I’m a little bummed

about a few things…that I’m still behind in my grading, that I was back at school today, there are still no sneak peeks on susan’s site of the family shoot, that my blog doesn’t seem to generate any interest at. all. as evidenced by the severe lack of comments – not discounting keri, deanne and leah, of course. 🙂  I’m pretty aware that my life isn’t that exciting – I’m not posting pictures, and I’m not pregnant – but it’s still sort of a shot to the ego.  To be fair, I probably need one.

Today was a good day.  I finished a response letter to a kid who wrote an article in the school paper totally slamming student council.  I think it was good; I tried to be nice, but I was catty in a way only the teachers will understand.  I TOTALLY screwed up part of my Macbeth lesson.  I just haven’t had the time to reread it before today.  Oops.  I could feel my face just get redder by the second when I realized what I’d done.  I ‘fessed up and clarified, but still.  I’m supposed to be brilliant!  The best part of today was going to Student Council with nothing screaming to be done RIGHT THIS SECOND!!!  It was probably the first day since school started.  Soooooo nice.

The afternoon picked up in the stress department though, when I realized I hadn’t done a DAMN thing to prepare for a meeting I’m running tomorrow.  Teaching kids is hard.  Teaching teachers is brutal.  So I spent an hour or so planning and have read another 30 minutes tonight.  Our school is moving from a 10-12 grade school to a 9-12 grade school next year, so it’s bound to get crazy.  I’m in charge of the Academic portion, which is a bit daunting.  This is what my master’s degree is in, so I think I can handle it.  The good news is that all of my reading says that the key to success is having an administrator who is only responsible for 9th graders.  This sounds promising.  I hate 9th graders, simply on principle, but it does provide a pretty easy focus for preparing to apply for an assistant principal job next year.  There will be that position, and the activities director AP job open as well (will soon be filled by an interim).  I’m trying not to think too far ahead, but every day I learn something new that makes me believe this is a change I need to at least try.

Tonight Ryan and I went grocery shopping, which was nice, since usually Jesse does.  I love to do the shopping, just not the cooking.  Then we came home and made a pumpkin cake.  Which is clearly just what we all need at this point.  At least Jesse had a softball game tonight.  I *may* have walked an extra set of stairs today, so maybe I deserve a sweet little treat.

7 Comments

  1. Aww, I read your blog, Tara! It’s on my google reader. Do you have a stats counter? You might be suprised how many people are actually reading and just not leaving comments. You can read my blog too. 😉

  2. I enjoy reading your blog. I’ve been anxiously awaiting your pics so you must be going nuts! I agree with Amy, there might be a bunch of us blog stalkers out there.

  3. Seriously, your blog gives me something to do besides Nest when I am up feeding Elliott at 2am : )

  4. I’ve been a stalker, and you reminded me that I should probably comment sometimes too. I like seeing the other side of the parent-student-teacher world.

    About your Macbeth lesson — what you did is probably a better life lesson than you realize. You messed up, admitted it and continued on — that’s something they will ALL need to do in the future, brilliant or not. That type if thing is harder on the brilliant ones anyway.

  5. I stalk when I can. Work’s been crazy lately, so I haven’t had much time for internet “playing.”

  6. ::joins list of those that stalk the blog, but don’t leave comments::

  7. I just found your blog today, and I’m excited you’re blogging! I second Amy, a statcounter would make you feel better because tons of people read but don’t comment, or comment to you personally and not on your blog.

    Even though I know this and even though I have a statcounter, it’s still a repeated blow to the ego so I know where you’re coming from 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

