Wow…it’s only Tuesday?

These past few days have been crazy whirlwind busy!  We started on Saturday with the state cross country meet, which made my back hurt and my guilt at not running enough spike.  Sunday we stood in line at CSU for three hours, but we got this, so I’m okay with it:
*

Talk about energizing my desire to vote!  I was nearly in tears because the gravity of the moment we are in took my breath away.  However this election ends, it will be an historic moment, and I am amazed and blessed to be a part of it.  I love that this election season has created such an interest in politics and government, and even though there are waaaaaaay too many people who don’t do their research before spouting ridiculous Fox-news-driven-Elizabeth-Hasselbeck-spewing rhetoric, at least people are starting to *care*.  There might be hope for this nation, after all.

The past two days I’ve been in Aurora at Grandview High School for the state Student Council Fall Conference.  Almost 800 student leaders, 75 advisors, and one giant Monopoly board.  If that’s not a recipe for fun, I don’t know what is!  Last night we went to Ted’s Montana Grill and after almost unbuttoning my pants to relieve the pressure (instead I went to the restroom and um…deflated…), this is what my lovelies looked like:
Awwwwww!
 

Aren’t they cute?  Notice the girl on the left…what she and I learned at Fall Retreat is that everyone thinks she’s my long lost given-up-for-adoption-15-years-ago daughter.  Never mind the implications of that statement…it’s actually POSSIBLE that I could be the mother of a 15 year old.  Gah.  Good thing I hang out with these kids – they keep me young, other than the inevitable gray hair of course. 

Student council events are an interesting mix.  Silly songs, family groups, advisor bonding, song fest, magic notes – all things that in principle sound pretty effing lame.  Turns out these have been some of the best parts of my professional career…BUBBLE GUM!  Bazooka, bazooka, bazooka…. 🙂

1 Comment

  1. I.am.so.jealous that you saw Obama that close. And that you were in Aurora, and I wasn’t. Boo.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

