All about perspective, isn’t it?

I spend an inordinate amount of time complaining on here about things which I feel are pretty damn important.  I know we all do something similar…spend so much time focusing on the negative that we start to take the positive for granted.  I’d just like to share some things from my week.

A very good friend of mine found out she is not almost 8 weeks pregnant after nearly a year of trying to conceive.  Turns out she has a blighted ovum, which basically means a fertilized egg implanted, but for whatever reason, didn’t keep growing.  The placenta grew, and her hormones continued to shift, which provided the positive test and all the symptoms, but no baby.

An acquaintance/friend of mine finally became pregnant after years of trying and in vitro fertilization.  She is currently in the hospital, 30 weeks pregnant, taking steroids to hurry the development of her daughter’s lungs, so that when that precious, very wanted and already loved girl does come into the world – and she will, probably very soon – she has every fighting chance.

One of my students told me this afternoon that her father was rushed to the hospital this weekend with chest pain and assorted other symptoms, including some serious bleeding.  He has been diagnosed with colon cancer.  I don’t know how serious, or what the prognosis is, but I know that there are EIGHT children in this family, and mom’s only job is at home, taking care of the family.  I can’t even imagine what is going through their minds.

So if you wouldn’t mind saying a prayer, offering a moment of silence – whatever your gig is – or even just stopping to appreciate the things that are going right for you, I’d appreciate it.  I know that in light of all this, the email from the pissy parent and the fact that I’m so busy that I forgot today was my OWN wedding anniversary suddenly seem less important.

2 Comments

  1. First of all, HAPPY ANNIVERSARY. SEcond of all, I will most certainly keep L, C, and your student in my thoughts and prayers. I just cannot imagine how each one of them is dealing with what they are dealing with right now…

    I’m going to go ahead and stop complaining about wanting sushi then.

  2. Wow, that puts things into perspective. I’m already sending all my strongest and best vibes to the first two, but I’ll add your student to my thoughts as well. I can’t imagine dealing with that now, let alone at such a young age.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

