Wow, it’s been a while!

Hello there, my lovelies! I can’t believe what a blog slacker I’ve been. Okay, actually, I *can* believe it, but I’ll pretend not to so I can feel a little better…

It’s obviously been busy. We had a fairly uneventful Thanksgiving. Only seven people, everyone gone by 6:00 pm, shelves full of leftovers…pretty typical. We decided to stay home for the holiday, since spending two of our five days driving made us more than a little ill. Couldn’t have made a better decision. I was so proud of myself that I managed the weekend without cleaning a thing. I needed the break.

So now I’m back at school, down to only 12 days before the real vacation begins. Twelve. Here’s what happens the last 12 days of a semester, in case you’d forgotten:
Student: Hey, um, what can I do about my grade?
Me: What is your grade?
Student: Um, it’s a 54%.
Me: hm….well…you can start caring in October. Oh, sorry! Too late for that!
ORRRRR
Student: Hey, how many points do we have left?
Me: Why, do you have a B?
Student: Yeah! Is there something I can do to get an A?
Me: hm…well…you can start caring in October. Oh, sorry! Too late for that!

It’s just that time of year. Every parent on the planet is calling me wanting me to change my classroom policy to take late work. Every student is suddenly turning in every piece of work. Every teacher is laughing. I had a student with a SEVEN PERCENT (that a 7% for you number people) ask me what he could do to pass. There are five class periods left. Nothing. You can do nothing.

I struggle all the time with these kids. It’s such a fine line between caring too much and preparing them for real life. I console myself with the fact that most of them are 18, and fully capable of making decisions about their time. If they don’t do work, they know the consequences. They KNOW the policies and expectations. Their parents know as well. So when I get phone calls and emails and visits, I stick to my guns and hope it all works out. Contrary to popular belief, I do have a heart and it is hard to toe that line. Getting those emails one, two or three years later thanking me makes it all worth it.

More tomorrow, when I update you all on my exciting master’s program developments. Try not to pee your pants in excitement for that.

4 Comments

  1. Good for you for sticking it to them! As a student with a teacher that is really lax (sp?) and is extending deadlines all the time or not clear on them, I applaud you. It is more difficult and frustrating to have her style than one that is firm.

  2. Glad that you had a good holiday and good for you for sticking to your guns. I’m glad that your students eventually realize what a good teacher you are.

  3. You crack me up girl! Keep up the good work, if their parents don’t teach them a gdamn thing but you give them just one life lesson, good for you! I just made A turn in all of her late math mates, I don’t care if it brings up her grade, she needs the practice and the dicipline! 🙂

  4. You are such a great teacher. I love that you love what you do. Gives me hope. I know way too many shittastic teachers.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

