Tooting my own horn

tee hee…I said “tooting”… 🙂

A couple of months ago, my principal sent me to a meeting with principals from the other schools in our district to start planning an event to help our schools transition from being 10-12 grade to being 9-12. Just the meeting was cool…meeting those people, actually making decisions, networking.

The last couple of weeks, I’ve been finalizing plans for this event for our students. Today was the beginning of implementation. I, and four other teachers, took about 60 kids to see Mark Scharenbroich, a nationally-known motivational speaker (www.nicebike.com), which was AMAZING. Any speaker who can told the attention of over 600 teenagers for 3 hours is my hero. They weren’t even TEXTING!!!! Wow.

Then we came back to school, where I had planned activities to continue the ideas presented by Mark. So these kids were working in small groups, sharing ideas, learning, thinking, planning…all that I had imagined they would do. And it WORKED. And they want to continue through the spring! Stage one = SUCCESS.

The best part of this whole thing is that it’s mine. I planned it. I did it. It’s not a “leftover” from the previous student council adviser, it’s not something that the principal did and let me lead, it’s allllllll mine. And I kicked ass. And I will continue to kick ass. I’m very proud of myself and so is the principal. She told me so. 🙂

3 Comments

  1. HEEEEYYYYYY that’s wonderful! I can’t even imagine how awesome it must feel to actually see someone- TEENAGERS in this case- excited and motivated about something you, too, feel passionate about! No texting- that in itself is a miracle! Good for you!

  2. That’s awesome! Good job for you and good luck on the continuing success! Kids do things everyday that surprise you.

  3. You are molding the future of our country, and that helps me sleep better at night. Amazing!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

