I will follow you into the dark…

If you have never heard this song by Death Cab for Cutie, do me (and you) a favor and go listen. It is beautiful. It is heart-wrenching. It so perfectly sums up what I wish I could say about how I feel about my family. It was just on Scrubs, in case you’re wondering where that came from.

I’m hoping in the next few days to get some San Diego pictures up. It was a wonderful trip. Jesse and I really needed the time together. It amazes me that we are able to put up with each other for as long as we do, honestly. We live together. We work together. We are rarely apart. Eventually this begins to wear on us, and even though I initially feel like we should spend some time apart, I’ve noticed that spending time together away from school and kids and real life is what is best for us. We loved our time there. Even though the Donkeys lost their asses and we spent the night we were supposed to leave sleeping on McDonald’s booth benches.

We returned home just in time for a *thrilling* New Year’s Eve celebration – we kept Ryan up until about 11:45 and then went to bed at 12:10 – after one glass of wine. And that was all the celebrating in this house. We really are getting old, aren’t we? *le sigh*

School has started again. I have a student teacher, and it would be difficult for me to express how happy I will be when she begins teaching. I love my job, most of the time. But I’m tired. I really am. Today I lost it on one of my favorite kids. Literally lost it. I was red. I was yelling. I was pissed. I pulled out my most powerful line – “If you don’t like it, LEAVE.” (he didn’t) To be fair to myself, he did earn it. But it was their first day back, and that was how I greeted them. :::smacks forehead::: I felt bad. I still do. Nothing I can do about it now, I suppose. Maybe I got through to him, but I know I probably didn’t. I’m going to feel like a complete asshole if he’s not in class on Friday because he switched classes, though.

Also, I realized about three days ago that in a month we will be registering Ryan for kindergarten. I didn’t do any of this with Megan, so this is a completely new shock for me. How is my precious baby this big? Have I really been here for almost five years? How on EARTH have I made it this long without any more kids? 🙂

With that, I’m sending all my love and good thoughts tonight to my dear friends Kerry and Jeff and their soon-to-be-born-and-spoiled-by-their-Auntie-Tara twin boys. I love you all. Even though we haven’t been ‘together’ much lately, you inspire me every day with your courage, humor and faith. You are the parents this world needs, and I couldn’t be prouder to call you my friends. Everyone do me a favor and hug the ones you love tonight for just an extra second, okay?

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for the good thoughts and stuff, buddy. That last paragraph made me cry, so I will kick your ass when these naughty little boys decide to come (much, much later). =)

  2. Oh, and I LOVE that DCFC song. A lot.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

