There are great things ahead, my friends

My favorite part of President Obama’s (squeeeeee!) speech today? Choosing hope over fear.

I’m afraid to leave my cozy classroom. I’m afraid to suck as a principal. I’m afraid that I won’t be good. I’m afraid to let my family down. I’m afraid to apply for any of the elementary jobs that opened yesterday.

Then I think about some things: that the toughest thing I’ve had to face is losing a parent. I’ve never been truly hungry. I’ve always had a home. I’ve always had a family. I’ve never had to look at my children and tell them we are alone in the world. My parents were always gainfully employed. My extended family would have been there if I needed them. I think of all these things and realize that I will never need to be afraid. I can choose hope. I can choose to dream. I can choose to believe – in America, in our new President, in my children, in all children, in my husband…and in MYSELF.

So today I choose hope over fear. I will apply for jobs that are not in my school. I will work and study and learn so that I can provide for my children. I will HOPE. And then….I will act.

5 Comments

  1. What a well-written entry. I felt the same way thinking about the safety and health of our babies today (when our President spoke of hope). FWIW, I know you will be successful, whichever road (or school) you choose. Because that’s just how good you are.

    Much love buddy!

  2. Thank you for the reminder that things are generally not as bad as I think they are when I am in the moment.

  3. Oh, and one more thing. I nominated you for an award on our blog. =) Ch-ch-check it out!

  4. What an awesome post. It really is easy to forget just how lucky you are.

  5. What a great thing to take from an already great speech. I love the sentiment and need to apply this myself!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

