I’m the decider.

Well, at least a little bit the decider. I want to thank all of you for your ideas and thoughts – some of you had some insightful things to consider and I did. After spending some very limited time with my friend Kerry, and waking up to what the truly important things in life are all about, here’s what I’ve decided: I’m going to pass on applying for the assistant principal job at my school. There are a lot of reasons why, but what it boils down to is this: I feel like making this decision shouldn’t have to be so hard. When I have as many doubts as I do – none of which have to do with me or my ability – I should just move on.

You know, the thing is, I know that I’m capable of doing the job. I know that I would do well. I know that I want to be a principal someday, I just know this, too: I don’t want to be one right now at my school. There are too many factors completely out of my control. It could (and probably would) end very badly, given the current state of administration at my school. I have at least 20 years left in education in the state of Colorado, I love teaching at my school, and I’m only 34 years old. I have time.

So, yes, I’m taking the safe route. I’m taking the poor route. I will, indeed, be the only teacher at my school with two master’s degrees along with two licenses. I will probably keep doing track (and tearing my hair out) and student council (and tearing my heart out). I might not get another opportunity like this at my school for a very long time. I just might regret this decision.

However.

I get to be married to a man, not a school. I get to have a full summer vacation with my own kids, not with school staff. I will be able to decide what I want to do outside of the classroom and when I want to do it. And I get to continue impacting students in the most effective way I can – by teaching them. I am a great teacher. I know that. I also know that I can be better. So I will use this as an opportunity to get better. Maybe I will teach new classes. Maybe I will try a new pedagogical technique.

Maybe I will have a baby.

7 Comments

  1. Glad to hear you were able to come to a decision. From the sounds of everything, it sounds like the right decision for now. Now hopefully you can try to relax a little.

  2. Good for you – take care and hang in there. The “maybes” are definite reasons to say no to being an assistant principal. 🙂

  3. pedagogical
    I’m pretty sure you made that word up.

  4. Yay for being decisive! Talk to you soon my dear!

  5. good choice, sounds like that’s definitely the right decision for you right now. I hope you’re feeling more peaceful and can kick back a little now.

  6. I’m so glad I could help you to make your decision. Or should we be thanking Max and Wes? Either way, I’m so happy that you’ve made this decision for you and your family. Big (((HUGS))) from our family to yours!

  7. Sounds like you made the right choice. And I’m sure that if you change your mind down the line, another opportunity will present itself.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

