Dusting it off

Yup. It’s that time. Strangely enough, people seem to be interested in my pitifully small life. I was going to wait until next week when I hope to have some compelling stories from the new group of kids, but hey! let’s go now.

Here’s a quick recap:
1) I finished school!!! I have two master’s degrees. Too bad that doesn’t make me a master of anything important. But I’m done. Soon I will have a shiny new principal license and an incremental pay increase. Woo hoo! I’ve already decided what I will study for my PhD, but it’s going to the back back burner on the stove that is in the back forty.

2) We took family vacations! We went to Wisconsin with my sister and her kids (yes, all 8 of us) in a car that should NOT have held 8. It was fun. However, I was left wondering why anyone lives there. People are SO grumpy. Even the employees at the Sweet Shop were borderline rude. How can you work at THE SWEET SHOP and not be happy all day?!?

Then we went to Disneyland. Ahhhh….I love Disneyland. Always have. Always will. It was my favorite vacation destination ever. And now I love it even more. Seeing it through the eyes of the kids has changed it for me in the most positive way. Also, did you know you can walk THROUGH Sleeping Beauty’s castle now? Like actually INSIDE it. This made me almost orgasmic – and yes, you can laugh at that.

3) We’re not knocked up. We’ve got the green light, though, and we’re having fun trying.

4) Megan starts middle school tomorrow. Yikes. She’s nervous. So am I.

5) Ryan starts kindergarten next week. Yikes. She’s thrilled. So am I.

6) I had a complete emotional breakdown this week (this is for my nestie friends :)). Tops on the list of issues: what if Megan doesn’t want to come live here next year? I can’t *make* her. Also, what if I can not get pregnant again? What if I do, and something bad happens again? And the classic, I just graduated with a SECOND master’s degree and my online friends were more excited than my own family. Not one of them even said congratulations. Not my dad, not my aunt, not a cousin. My mother-in-law did though. Ah, the irony.

So, I think that’s it. As for now, I’m just manning up for another school year. I’m excited about teaching a new class, and working with an AMAZING new administrator, and about not coaching. I’m sad that summer went by too fast…I’ve missed you all.

8 Comments

  1. Yay for being back to blogging!

    I am sorry you didn’t get the reaction you expected from your family on graduation. I have found that my internet friends have been more there for me than seems possible.

    As you navigate all the other stuff, huge hugs to you. I am sure you will be able to manage it all in “tru” fahsion- with sass and grace.

  2. Whoa, I missed that you had finished the second Master’s. Way to go and congratulations!

  3. Yay for new blog entries! (Yes, I stalk you, but only because I think you’re cool)

    I’m sorry your family wasn’t more supportive. Personally I think you rock for getting a second Master’s.

    Cody starts middle school this year & I think I’m freaking out more than he is. Why do they have to grow so fast?

  4. So glad you are back to blogging! I’m sorry that your family wasn’t more excited – that sucks. They should have been extremely proud of you!

  5. Big hugs… You have all my juju and good thoughts for the things you are worried about to work out the way that you want them to. I agree with Andrea. Our ‘internet friends’ are the best and more supportive than I think any of us imagined when we posted the first time.

  6. HUGE congrats on your second Master’s degree – I completely spaced congratulating you on it, but I have a really good excuse if you want to hear it. =)

    About the not getting pregnant/being scared about getting pregnant thing…I soooo know how you feel (in a different way), and I can assure you that you will get what you want. I know it. I think you just need to spend a little more time with Max (and Wes, but more time with Max), because he’s the “good one”, and with him…well, it just can’t go any other way than the way you want it to. You know what I mean (maybe nobody else will, but you will).

    I miss you terribly – let’s plan to meet up soon…I’ll even come up there. I love you, buddy!

  7. Congratulations on your second masters. I think that is a pretty big deal. I’m trying to work up the courage to start one, part time. Not sure how that works with the working full time/family dynamic.

    I hope that everything works out the way you want it to. You definately deserve it. Let me know if you ever want some time with my incredibly cute, and snuggly toddler.

  8. So glad you are back to blogging! (Yes, I’m another one of your stalkers from the nest.)

    Congrats on the 2nd masters! That is so awesome!

    I wish you all the best in the coming year!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

