Sometimes I wonder

I wonder why more people don’t come by and leave comments.

And then I realize that I DON’T POST ENOUGH.

Yeah. Um. Sorry about that. 🙂

Here’s something you might not know about me: I am obsessed with song lyrics. Seriously. I love listening to the words of songs. I don’t even listen to a song if I can’t understand (or there aren’t any) lyrics. It is such a “problem” that my ex-husband actually thought that I wanted my life to BE a song. I wondered what was wrong with that. People find connections in literature, in film, in church…why not in a song? So I’ve decided to document the last week or so in song lyrics for you.

To remember my mother, on the 27th anniversary of her death:
And when I feel like I’m lost something tells me you’re here with me
And I can always find my way when you are here

Because sometimes I want to go back and completely change my life choices (and make my ex disappear):
I’ve paid a price, and I’ll keep paying

I’m not ready to make nice, I’m not ready to back down
I’m still mad as hell and I don’t have time to go round and round and round
It’s too late to make it right, I probably wouldn’t if I could
‘Cause I’m mad as hell
Can’t bring myself to do what it is you think I should

I know you said, why can’t you just get over it
It turned my whole world around, and I kind of like it

I made my bed and I sleep like a baby
With no regrets and I don’t mind sayin’
It’s a sad sad story when a mother will teach her
Daughter that she ought to hate a perfect stranger

Because I miss my daughter:

When destiny calls you, You must be strong
I may not be with you, But you’ve got to hold on
They’ll see in time, I know
We’ll show them together

Because I love my husband:
Every moment, as long as you’re mine
I’ll wake up my body, and make up for lost time

Say there’s no future, for us as a pair
And though I may know, I don’t care

Just for this moment, as long as you’re mine
Come be how you want to, and see how bright we shine

Because I’ve decided to take charge (like I’m supposed to do, because I’m ME, damnit!) and go to counseling:
Years go by will I still be waiting, for somebody else to understand
Years go by if I’m stripped of my beauty, and the orange cloud raining in my head
Years go by will I choke on my tears, till finally there is nothing left…
Hey but I don’t care cause sometimes, I said sometimes
I hear my voice
I hear my voice
I hear my voice

I think people don’t pay enough attention to the words – not on television, not in magazines, not in poetry, and definitely not in song. As poetry, they can be better than Byron. For pure personal connection and motivation, they can be better than Matt Foley.

Yours in promising-to-write-more, the lyric queen

5 Comments

  1. Looking forward to more prose from the Lyric Queen!
    Signed,
    Checks This Site Routinely 🙂

  2. I always wanted to do a history class summary with just song lyrics. Try any decade; you can find out what’s going on politically and in daily life through the songs of the time. And many ring true for a long time, for many reasons. -Like the Dixie Chicks song. 🙂

  3. I love song lyrics. I also love that you can hear a song and it can instantly transport you back in time to any particular moment in your life (good or bad)
    I enjoy reading your blog, fwiw. Glad to hear you are feeling better and taking charge of yourself. : )
    CC soon?

  4. Oh hell, I love Tori Amos….and I love lyrics too. I had no idea you were a closet lyrics love-ah! I basically love this post. Keep it up, Tara! I miss you and think of you guys often. Counting the months til our visit next year!

  5. I always said I wanted to be loved like a country song. I love lyrics.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

