What I took with me

Last night, John Ondrasik (Five for Fighting) said something that really stuck with me. He was telling a story about how he wrote one of his songs and he said, “There’s probably a song in this room right now, if you just listen.”

I love that word listen. No one (especially me) does it enough. There are uniquely precious stories in the world that never get heard. Even though we wax poetic about “getting everyone’s voice in the room”, people don’t listen.

I’ve decided to start listening. I feel the desire and the need to be writing something of consequence, but I’m stuck. I think I will start over by listening.

2 Comments

  1. So very true. I need to listen more as well, especially to myself.

  2. I love him. That is all.

    Did he play ‘Easy Tonight?”


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

