Blogging for preemies

More than a few of the blogs on my google reader tonight have stories about preemies that are, in turn, inspiring, touching, and hopeful. So even though I’ve not experienced the exquisite pain of having a premature child, I’d like to write about what I know.

I know that some of the most beautiful children I have met started their lives too early.

I know that parents of preemies have a strength I certainly will never possess.

I know that the fear, the guilt, the anger, the despair about those children will never fully go away.

I know that there is an abhorrent amount of misinformation about prematurity in the world – because I used to be one of those uneducated ones, the ones with babies that were right on time and healthy.

I know that the challenges preemies face will only give them grace and power.

I know, more than ever, that there is a higher power.

I know one preemie who possesses magical fertility powers. 🙂

I know that my world is richer and more meaningful because of the preemies in it.

To all of you who started as preemies, are moms and dads of preemies, or even have been the smallest part of a preemie’s life, you have my respect, love, and admiration tonight and always.

2 Comments

  1. Wow, what a beautiful post. I got a little teary-eyed knowing that our little boys have made such an impact on you, thank you so much for recognizing what we and millions of other families go through each year. And Wes wants to know when you can come snuggle him, he misses you. 😉

  2. The hit TV show “Mad Men” has inspired a return to the simple
    elegance of 1960s jewelry fashions. Be sure to consider the man in your life when choosing a piece.
    The amazing array of men’s jewelry is a result of retailers having an abundance
    of resources for fine jewelry.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

