A little more than a year ago

I wrote a post about training for a half marathon. I was hyped UP for it. I was excited; I had a goal. I needed something other than my body’s tendency to habitually spontaneously abort embryos to focus on for five minutes.

Then I found out I was pregnant again. And I decided to keep running – because it’s what saved my sanity. I ran my way out of that hole. I found peace in myself and what I could do. Then they took that away from me, and here’s a tip: pelvic rest at the height of your aerobic fitness building sucks. You can’t get that back after eleven weeks. So I got fat (which I was supposed to), and I ate ice cream three times a week (which I wanted to), and I had a beautiful baby girl (which surprised even me). There is a year’s worth of missing stories here, and I’m sorry for that. I’m going to leave them lost.

Instead, I’m going to live in the now. I’m going to train again. In fact, I already am. Today I ran almost nine miles which is the farthest I’ve run since college. I have a half marathon on April 10. I have a trip to San Diego with two of my dearest friends in only ten days. I am flying to Salt Lake on March 10 for a Jeopardy! audition. I am going back to Washington, DC on March 20 to watch another group of teenagers discover how our nation works.

I’m going to love the bejeezus out of these beautiful beautiful girls. I hope you stick around to watch me do that.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

