My official San Diego recap

I flew to San Diego on a Wednesday. I went straight to the conference hotel. I went to every workshop, every meal (even the ones they didn’t feed me – helllloooo? lunch would be nice!), every event. I didn’t leave the grounds. I stayed in my room peacefully watching the 19″ tube TV when I wasn’t working. I had no fun. All I did was learn. Then I flew home. The End.

That’s the official story. Apparently, it is in bad taste to have gone out to eat (ON MY OWN DIME) during these times of budget crisis. Apparently, it is in bad taste to have left the hotel room (THAT I PAID FOR) when I wasn’t in workshops. And apparently, it is in bad taste to post pictures about it.

I get it. The district is broke. The last thing they need to deal with is teachers who go to conferences but spend all their time not at the conference while on the district’s dime. Here’s the thing, though: I paid for most of this trip (had some grant money). I attended all the workshops. They didn’t feed us every time; to be honest, when they did, it looked like crap, so we ate out a lot. At night, when there was nothing going on, we explored San Diego. We paid for the car to do so. I understand that the majority of “the public” cannot grasp that a teacher would spend almost $1000 out of her own pocket to become a better teacher and that if for some reason, photos became “exposed” it would look bad.

So I’m not posting pictures here. I’m not officially telling you that I had the best two desserts and best pizza OF MY LIFE on this trip. I’m not officially telling you that I enjoyed my toes in the Pacific sand more than I enjoyed general session number one. I’m not officially telling you that it’s a crime to charge that much for a room that has: peeling wallpaper, no fan in the bathroom, windows that do not close, and quilted bedspreads. I’m not officially telling you that I have some of the best friends in the world. (I am, however, officially telling you that I have THE most supportive husband ever. EVER. Do not try to compete – you will lose.)

I went. I learned. I came home. The End.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

