This post brought to you by the letter A

I taught myself to read when I was only three. Heaven knows my single working mother didn’t have time to teach me. Instead, when she needed a break, she’d plop me in front of Sesame Street and take a well-deserved moment to herself (that part is conjecture of course; since she’s dead, I don’t really know about the “taking a moment” thing. I do know I watched a lot of Sesame Street.). The great part of that stellar parenting move is that I was exposed to some pretty sweet public television programming and I paid a bunch of attention. I remember LOVING Sesame Street, even when I was the ripe old age of 6…only I was watching it because my little sister was (and if you buy that, I’ve got a really cute baby to sell to you).

Sesame Street is a screen full of nostalgia. The best part of it is that it has something for everyone – are you grumpy today? Check out Oscar. Are you feeling magnanimous? Big Bird. Want to save the world? Super Grover!!! You can learn letters, review words, count (ONE! chocolatey chocolate chip cookie!). And apparently you can teach yourself to read. So imagine my excitement that Sesame Street is almost exactly as I remember it! Ainsley is currently standing in front of the television, bouncing up and down in her classic baby dance move and squealing like Team Edward girls at a Twilight premiere, and she’s doing it for a show that I used to do the same thing for almost 40 years ago.

Jesse is going to be working every weekday from 8-5 for the month of July, which means with the exception of state camp next week, I’m going to be a stay at home mom for a few weeks. This scares the bejeezus out of me…there’s a reason I work, ya know. What makes me feel a little better is that for an hour a day, I can turn on this show and see a childhood that I don’t remember and can’t find out about.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

